Berry BBQ Chicken :: Easy Dinner

Monday night I did not feel like cooking, but I had promised Cody that I would make dinner. I hadn’t planned anything. About four thirty, I headed to the kitchen and started digging around in the cabinets and the freezer.

I came across a box of frozen, boneless chicken breasts and decided chicken would be perfect. Especially since the only other meat I found was half a pound of frozen bacon. Obviously I need to go shopping!

I pulled out a baking stone cookie sheet with raised edges (perfect for cookies or roasting veggies) and greased it with a drizzle of garlic infused olive oil. I diced half an onion into very thin pieces and sprinkled them across the sheet. I placed the chicken breasts a few inches apart on the sheet.

Next, I mixed up a sauce to pour over the chicken. I crushed half a cup of black berries, two table spoons of spicy mustard, one fourth cup of Pampered Chef’s Raspberry Habanero sauce, and one third cup light brown sugar. After pouring the mixture evenly over the chicken, I sprinkled the meat with Tastefully Simple’s Garlic Garlic seasoning. I then wrapped the pan in tin foil in stuck it in the oven at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.

While that was baking, I diced six small brown potatoes and boiled them in the microwave for 30 minutes. After the potatoes were soft, I roughly mashed them and mixed them with cheddar cheese blend, a tablespoon of Sabra’s roasted garlic hummus, and one tablespoon of butter.

When the chicken timer went off, I removed the tin foil, basted the chicken with Sweet Baby Ray’s barbeque sauce and returned the chicken, uncovered, to the oven for ten minutes.

During those ten minutes, I reheated some homemade rolls that my mother made on Sunday.

The chicken was super moist and very flavorful. Cody dipped his in more barbeque sauce, but I ate mine just the way it was. I drizzled my roll with amber agave nectar. I love agave nectar. I will have to make a post soon on the different ways you can use agave nectar.

Blackberry and Raspberry BBQ Chicken Lazy Night Dinner

This dinner was so easy! I’m a huge fan of easy to make, easy to clean up dinners.

Leave a Reply

