2016 Goals :: Realistic & Challenging 

It’s that time of the year. You know what I’m talking about. It’s all over your Facebook and Twitter feeds — New Year Resolutions. 

I’m not a huge fan of the “New Year New You” idea. I think you can make a “New You” anytime you want, you don’t need a fresh calendar to make a change. Although I know the idea of having a set start date is nice. 

So instead of resolutions, I make goals. Last year I had a ton of goals I wanted to accomplish and the motivation to do them . . . For about two weeks. I honestly can’t be sure I actually accomplished anything I wanted to do last year. And that’s okay.

This year I’m using last year as a lesson. I learned that I should set goals to do things I want to do (like go to more concerts) and not goals to do things I think I have to do (run more). When the goal was to accomplish something I didn’t really want, I didn’t care if I stuck to it and it showed when I couldn’t check anything off my list. 

I only have three main goals for 2016 :: be healthier, be happier, be kinder. 

In order to achieve these, I set smaller goals for myself including finishing Kayla Itsines’ Bikini Body Guide, cooking at home more, complimenting somebody else each day, trying to criticize others less, and take time do things I enjoy each day. 

I know these will be challenging and I’m looking forward to the positive changes these goals will bring. 

Leave a Reply

