Rice Krispie Treats – The Perfect Treat

I adore Rice Krispie treats so much. The crunchy, chewy, sweet combination makes my taste buds delighted. Seriously, they’re amazing. And this recipe from Life In The Lofthouse is literally the perfect Rice Krispie treat. No, I’m not exaggerating. Perfection right here.

DSC05686.JPG

I had never made Rice Krispie treats before so I was unprepared for making them. They seem so simple, but . . . Ok, they are simple but messy! I was not ready to be so sticky.

This recipe calls for 6 cups of Rice Krispies, 5 tablespoons of butter, .25 teaspoons of salt, and 8 cups of mini marshmallows. I added six drops of pink food coloring, an extra cup of mini marshmallows, and about .5 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract.

I lined a large baking dish with greased parchment paper. In a large pot, I melted the butter and then added seven cups of mini marshmallow. While stirring constantly, I added the food coloring as the marshmallows melted. Once the minis were melted, I turned off the heat and folded in the Rice Krispies and salt. After the mixture was almost completely mixed, I added the last two cups of mini marshmallows and mixed well.

After dumping it into the lined panned, I greased my hands (less sticky stuff on you this way), and pressed the treats into some semblance of a flat, even treats.

After they cooled completely, I used a greased cookie cutter and cut them into heart shapes, because Valentine’s Day. What’s your favorite way to make Rice Krispie treats?

DSC05684.JPG

 

 

One thought on “Rice Krispie Treats – The Perfect Treat

  1. Pingback: *Kid Approved* Fruit Loop Treats | By Sarah Shea

Leave a Reply

