Doritos Taco Bake

title piv.jpg

I adore anything remotely taco related. Seriously – anything. I have no idea why, but taco stuff just makes me so happy.

Ever since I was little, when we would have taco salad at home, we would make it with Doritos instead of taco shells. Apparently this isn’t normal, because when my friends would come over, they would always be confused. I made a taco inspired dish for a potluck at work, I have been craving other taco foods!

For the filling:

  • 1 lbs hamburger
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1 cup spicy salsa
  • 1 small can Rotel
  • 1 large onion – diced
  • 2 tbsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 red bell pepper – diced
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper – diced
  • 2 cups Nacho Cheese Doritos – crushed into large chunks

Other:

  • 2-3 cups of shredded cheddar cheese (based on your desired amount of cheese; I used 2)
  • 1 Roma tomato – diced
  • green onions

I browned the meat in a skillet and then added everything but the Doritos and let it cook for another 10 minutes.

While the filling was cooking, I preheated the oven to 375 and greased a large, 9×11 casserole dish. I crushed more Doritos (sorry I didn’t measure how much!) and made a thick, even layer across the bottom of the dish.

I covered the Dorito crust with a thin layer of shredded cheddar cheese. Then I mixed the 2 cups of crushed Doritos with the taco meat mixture and spooned it into the dish. I added another thin layer of cheddar cheese and then sprinkled crushed Doritos over the top of the casserole before covering it with foil.

Bake at 375 for 15 minutes or until bubbly. Uncover and bake for another 10 minutes to met the cheese and crisp the top.

After removing from the oven, top with sprinkled tomatoes and green onions.

DSC05746.JPG

I served mine with sour cream and refried beans.

So freakin’ yummy.

DSC05750.JPG

What kind of taco dishes do you like?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

