Perfect & Delicious :: Lemon Sugar Cookies

 

SONY DSC

So these cookies are like lemon flavored cookie crack. What? You don’t like cookie crack? I’m not sure we can be friends. But, if you do like cookie crack, you need to make these cookies from Deliciously Sprinkled. Jenn is a freakin’ genius. These lemon sugar cookies are perfect for summer any season!

I made a batch of these on Friday for my mom to take for a girl’s night, but as soon as I tried one, I knew I had to make a batch for our home. The are soft, chewy, and with the most perfect crinkly bits. Bonus – they aren’t too hard to whip up and you probably already have most of the ingredients.

 

 

What you need:

  • 2 1/2 cups (all purpose) flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cups or two sticks salted butter
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • lemon zest – Jenn’s recipe calls for the zest of two lemons, but I cannot get enough lemon flavor so I used the 3 lemons
  • lemon juice – Jenn’s recipe calls for 1 1/2 teaspoons, but I amped it up to 1/4 cup
  • sugar – for rolling the cookie balls

 

What you do:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 350F; line or grease a cookie sheet – Parchment paper is my go-to
  • Combine flour, baking soda and baking powder in a bowl
  • In your stand mixer bowl (or a large bowl if your using a hand mixer), cream the butter and sugar together. I didn’t have salted butter so I used unsalted butter and tossed in a pinch of salt. I creamed for about five minutes on medium speed. I personally wait for it to be light and fluffy before moving on in the recipe (this or any recipe that asks for creaming)
  • Add egg yolks,extract, zest, and juice; mix until combined
  • Add flour mixture and mix until combined. I added it bit by bi, scraping the sides as I went. Jenn advises to not over mix!
  • Scoop out cookie balls and coat in the extra sugar
  • Bake for 15 – 18 minutes or until the edges are set and tops begin to crack.
  • Cool for about 5 minutes on sheet before moving to a wire rack to finish cooling
  • Enjoy!

 

Next time I’m going to try refrigerating the dough for a couple of hours prior to baking to see if I get a more pillow-y cookie. Other sugar cookie recipes I’ve made before require this and they always turn out fluffy – which I love.

 

 

Now you need to head on over to Deliciously Sprinkled and check out some of Jenn’s other recipes!

 

 

Leave a Reply

