Lemon Lime Cake :: Boxes Baked Better

I am in love with margarita cupcakes. As in, once I ate enough of the margarita icing that I got seriously tipsy. They taste like summer to me and I make them approximately one hundred times a summer. Unfortunately, my mom is allergic to alcohol so she hasn’t been able to have any of the deliciousness for herself 😦

Boxes Baked Better :: Lemon Lime Cake

 

The recipe I adapt for margarita cupcakes is from scratch and, while I wanted the yumminess, I didn’t want the time or the commitment that baking from scratch requires. This is basically a one bowl recipe.  Digging through our pantry, I noticed our surprisingly large amount of yellow cake mixes (like, six boxes? Why, mom? I’ll never know…). I decided to see if I could replicate the margarita flavor without tequila – and I succeeded! Sure, it doesn’t taste exactly the same, but this lemon lime cake is so, so close. Especially if you enjoy your slice with a shot ;P

Boxes Baked Better :: Lemon Lime Cake

 

What you need for the cake:

  • yellow or white boxed cake mix – I bet lemon cake mix would be great, too
  • ¼ teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 teaspoon lemon extract
  • zest of two limes
  • juice of two limes
  • zest of one lemon
  • juice of one lemon

 

What you need for the icing:

  • one tub of cream cheese icing
  • zest of one lime
  • juice of one lime

 

What you do:

  • Pre-heat the oven to the temperature specified on the box and prepare cake pan
  • Follow the directions on the box
  • Add in the zests, juices, and extracts
  • Mix well and bake according to the time specified on the box
  • After the cake done, cool for ten minutes in the pan and then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling (I kept mine if the pan because I’m currently cake stand-less)
  • While the cake is cooling, mix the lime juice and zest with the cream cheese icing and ice the cake once completely cool

 

There you go – a super delicious, easy, and sure to please cake. This would be perfect for a cookout, a girls night, or to impress your significant other’s parents. Guys, this cake tastes like it took a lot more effort than it actually does. Win – win, right? It is light, fluffy, and moist. Plus, I love how the lime zest looks in the icing.

Boxes Baked Better :: Lemon Lime Cake

 

Leave a Reply

