Reading List :: January 2017

One of my 2017 goals is to read 104 books this year. It’s kind of a steep number, but I know I can do it. In January, I only read four books – all in the first two weeks. You could say I kind of slacked off in the last two . . .

I’m going to share each of the books I’ve read with you when the month over and then pick my favorites at the end of the year.

 

SONY DSC

 

Animal Magnetism – Jill Shalvis

Animal Magnetism, one of Jill Shalvis’ many books set in Sunshine, Idaho, is an endearing story about a two lost souls discovering that they bring out the best in each other. Lilah Young, a cute and self-reliant kennel owner, is forced to confront everything she typically avoids when she lets Brady Miller, a no strings attached kind of guy, into her life – and ultimately her heart.

This book is adorable. Lilah is incredibly relatable and Brady is furiously male – a combination that makes for hilarious one-liners, amusing situations, and a great love story.

 

 

SONY DSC

Animal Attraction – Jill Shavis

Animal Attraction, also set in Sunshine, Idaho, features a powerful, yet vulnerable strong female lead, Jade Bennett. Jade is forced to confront the struggles of her past – and her growing attraction to her boss, the incredibly handsome and generous Dell Connelly.

Animal Attraction had the making of a great love story, but falls slightly short when it relies on Dell and his ridiculous good looks to spur Jade into confronting her traumatizing past.  Despite this, Shavis spins a delightfully funny story with several memorable moments.

 

 

SONY DSC

Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

Since You’ve Been Gone follows Emily Hughes as she attempts to complete a to-do list left behind by the enigmatic – and now mysteriously missing – Sloane. Along the way, she meets Frank Porter and turns her life upside down, eventually coming out of her shell and solving the biggest mystery of the summer — – Where is Sloan?

Since You’ve Been Gone is a fantastic coming of age story that will ensnare audiences of all ages with its unpredictable moments, impressively realistic family dynamics, and heart stopping realizations. Matson makes it complete by adding in playlists specifically attuned to her characters.

 

SONY DSC

 

Royally Lost – Angie Stanton

Royally Lost follows Becca as she travels Europe with her family and meets Nikolai – a crown price of a small, virtually unknown country. Becca finds the confidence to be herself, as does Nikolai. Both teens forge their own path – a path that might lead them apart.

Stanton tries – and fails – to weave a realistic story from a teen’s point of view. The story is ultimately whiney and lackluster…which I hate because I feel like the plot has potential.

 

SONY DSC

 

 

All in all, this month was kind of bust. I was afraid of that because I got both of the Shavis books and the Stanton book from a book list I found on Pinterest. I sort of liked the Shavis books. They were cute, despite being pretty simple. But, there is always a time and place for different books, so if a nice, easy read with a cute, romantic outcome if your cup of tea – check these out! I found them bound together,, which was pretty cool.

One of my friends gave me Since You’ve Been Gone for Christmas. This is by far the best book I read so far. It is funny, cute, and relatable. I fell for the characters, which I think is a sign of a great writer. I’ve already put a few more books by Matson on my ‘to read’ list.

What books have you read this year?

Better yet, what are your favorite books??

 




Follow Me

TwitterInstagramPinterest

Leave a Reply

